12 states on the video bandwagon, six to follow

Georgia and Iowa will soon join ten other states including Texas, California, Kansas, Michigan, Indiana, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, New Jersey and Missouri and implement new video franchising rules – ones that allow state wide franchising instead of community-level franchising. This is a bonus for phone companies which can now accelerate their video deployments. UBS analyst John Hodulik is quick to note that most of the reforms have been enacted in SBC territories. There are several other states that are pondering such rules and could pass them into law this year. These include Ohio, Illinois, Wisconsin, Florida, Tennessee and Connecticut.