U.S. states have wildly different punishments for texting and driving

When it comes to endangering teenage drivers, texting has become a bigger threat than alcohol. But there’s no consensus on a prohibitive punishment that keeps texting while driving to a minimum, according to a series of infographics by Mother Jones.

The most punitive state is Alaska, which slaps texting drivers a $10,000 fine and one year in jail. On the other hand, California’s fine to punish texting is just $20. What’s more, four states — Arizona, Montana, South Carolina and South Dakota — don’t even have a ban. These vast differences show that most people still aren’t aware of the dangers of texting behind the wheel.